List of works (in chronologic order):


Asthma - for accordion and video (22') (2017)

if this then that and now what - for 4 actors and 18 musicians (135') (2016)

Korpus - for three Harry Partch-instruments and 7-8 players (12') (2015)

Piano Concerto - for piano, sampler, orchestra and video (28') (2014)

Buenos Aires - music theatre in 5 scenes for 5 singers and 4 musicians (85') (2014)

Mono (Autotune Study and Nachgesang) - for male voice, keyboard and electronics (7') (2014)

Inszenierte Nacht - stagings of pieces by Bach, Schumann, Mozart and Ravel in collaboration with Ensemble Ascolta (55') (2013)

Black Box Music - for percussion solo, amplified box, 15 players and video (32') (2012)

String Quartet #2 - for strings with prepared and amplified bows (14') (2012)

Im Rauschen - for piccolo flute (playable for non-flutist), flute and bass clarinet with intra-instrumental playback (10') (2012)

History of My Instrument - for prepared harp and video (9') (2011)

Study for String Instrument #3 (for cello and video) (5') (2011)

Double Up - for sampler and small orchestra (18') (2010)

Ouvertures - for amplified gu-zheng, sampler and orchestra (17') (2008/2010)

Study for String Instrument #2 (for one or more string instruments and whammy pedal) (6') (2009)

Run Time Error - video installation / performance (2009-...)

Self Simulator - "interactive installation" (2009)

Pretty Sound (Up And Down) - for amplified piano (pianist or percussion player) (7'30'') (2008)

Beloved Brother - two movements from J.S. Bach's Cappriccio on the departure of his dearly beloved brother arrangered for "backside-guitar" (7') (2008)

On And Off And To And Fro - for vibraphone, saxophone/clarinet, double bass/cello and 3 players with megaphones (15') (2008)

soundTAG - epidemic sound installation (room, street and web) in coorporation with Kaj Aune (2008) WEBSITE:

Study for String Instrument #1 (for one or more string instruments) (5'-6') (2007)

Nothing Integrated - for extremely amplified clarinet, percussion, cello and live-video (21') (2007)

Difficulties Putting it Into Practice (prior In Her Frown) - for 2 or 4 amplified performers (9') (2007)

In Spite Of, And Maybe Even Therefore - for amplified fl., horn, cl. + unamplified double bassoon, pno., perc. and db (9') (2007)

Chambered Music - for 12 instruments and sampler (11') (2007)

loloopop - audio/visual installation created in coorporation with visual artist Carl Krull (2006)

[sproglyd] - interactive webpage (for Norwegian and Danish words and phonemes + string quartet) (2005)

Within Amongst - anti-kadenza for amplified guitar solo (5') (2005)

Amongst - concerto for extremely amplified guitar and and large orchestra (36') (2005)

Self-reflecting Next To Beside Besides - pieces from the NTBB-series in virtual combinations, where the musicians

                play together with video recordings of themselves, playing with video recordings of themselves, and so on ...

Next To Beside Besides #1-13 (+...) - amplified solo pieces that can also be played together as ensemble pieces

                or movements in any combination of (cello,) doublebass (2 different pieces), saxophone,

                accordion (2 pieces), percussion (2 pieces), piccolo flute, violin, piano, guitar (2 pieces) and camera (perc.) ... (3'30'') (2003-'06)

Amid - for flute, clarinet, piano, guitar, percussion, violin and cello (optional amplification) (9') (2004)

Beside Besides (/Next To Beside Besides #0) - fragment for solo cello (optional amplification) (4'00'') (2003)

Besides for amplified piano, violin and flute + "damped" string trio (12') (2003, revised 2010)

Drownwords for soprano and guitar, both amplified (10') (2003)

rerendered for pianist and two assistents (optional participating conductor, optional live video) (10') (2003, rev. '04)

Split Point for snaredrum, sandpaper and S (one player) (12') (2002)

Spin-Off for soprano saxophone, optional trompet, accordeon and double bass (3') (2002)

Praesens for 14 musicians (16') (2001)

Electro Miniature (for tape) (2'30'') (2001)

in-side-out-side-in for guitar solo (10') (2001)

De Profundis for soprano saxophone (also playing percussion) (12') (2000)

Impromptu for english horn, bass clarinet, bassoon and baryton saxophone (2000)

String Quartet (10') (1999)

Punctus Contra Punctum for organ (1999)

Polaroid - a saxophone collage for the short movie Polaroid (for tape) (1999)

Sinfonietta Variations for sinfonietta and saxophone (1999)

Aurora Ritual for orchestra (1999)

Study for Saxophone and Percussion (1999)

4 Petitesses for solo cello (1998)

Suite for Ensemble (1998)



Simon Steen-Andersen (b.1976) is a Berlin-based composer, performer and installation artist, working in the field between instrumental music, electronics, video and performance within settings ranging from symphony orchestra and chamber music (with and without multimedia) to stagings, solo performances and installations. The works from the last decade concentrates on integrating concrete elements in the music and emphasizing the physical and choreographic aspects of instrumental performance. The works often include amplified acoustic instruments in combination with sampler, video, simple everyday objects or homemade constructions.

Simon Steen-Andersen received numerous prizes and grants - latest the Mauricio Kagel Music Prize and the Siemens Composer's' Prize 2017, Nordic Council Music Prize and the SWR Orchestra Prize 2014, the Carl Nielsen Prize (DK) and the Kunstpreis Musik from Akademie der Kunste in Berlin 2013, the International Rostrum of Composers, the DAAD Berliner Kunstlerprogramm Residency 2010 and the Kranichsteiner Music Award 2008. Member of the German Academy of the Arts 2016.. Works commissioned by ensembles, orchestras and festivals such as ensemble recherche, Neue Vokalsolisten Stuttgart, the SWR Orchestra, The Philharmonic Orchestra of Radio France, Ensemble Ascolta, JACK Quartet, Ensemble Modern, Oslo Sinfonietta, 2e2m, Donaueschinger Musiktage, Ultraschall, Wittener Days of New Chamber Music and ECLAT. Furthermore worked with ensembles such as Klangforum Wien, Collegium Novum Zurich, ICTUS, Arditti, London Sinfonietta, Intercontemporain, asamisimasa and NADAR.

Simon Steen-Andersen studied composition with Karl Aage Rasmussen, Mathias Spahlinger, Gabriel Valverde and Bent Sorensen in Aarhus, Freiburg, Buenos Aires and Copenhagen 1998-2006. Since 2008 Simon Steen-Andersen is a lecturer of composition at the Royal Academy of Music in Aarhus, Denmark, in 2013-2014 he was visiting professor at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo and in 2014-16 he was lecturer at the Darmstadt Sommer Courses, in 2017 he was a guest professor at University of the Arts in Berlin.

Most works published by Edition-S / Copenhagen.